Great Moments in Cinema, V

IN A TOY STORE, BEFORE CHRISTMAS

BILL
What do you think we should do?

ALICE
What do I think we should do?

HELENA
(from a way’s off) Look, Mommy!

ALICE
What do I think? I don’t know. I mean, maybe…. Maybe I think we should be grateful. Grateful that we’ve managed to survive through all of our ‘adventures,’ whether they were real or only a dream.

BILL
Are you sure of that?

ALICE
Am I sure? Only as sure as I am that the reality of one night, let alone that of a whole lifetime, can ever be the whole truth.

BILL
And no dream is ever just a dream.

ALICE
The important thing is, we’re awake now, and hopefully for a long time to come.

BILL
Forever.

ALICE
Forever?

BILL
Forever.

ALICE
Let’s not use that word, you know? It frightens me. But I do love you. And you know, there is something very important, that we need to do as soon as possible.

BILL
What’s that?

ALICE
Fuck.

Leave a Reply

