Great Moments in Cinema, III

MORSE
Did you know that you can make fire from ice? You can make fire from ice. Hello? I’m talking to you. Did you know that could be done? Bob? Can you think?

GREEN
You moneyed folk, isn’t it? Isn’t it?

MORSE
Fire from ice, can you think how?

GREEN
Sit up there, drinks and golf. Screwing the maid, but get you in an emergency…

MORSE
That’s right.

GREEN
And you bloom. You make me sick, you know that? You make me sick!

MORSE
I’m sure I do.

GREEN
You fucking make me sick. I mean, what puts you off? Jews and taxes!

MORSE
Fire from ice. Can you think how?

GREEN
I don’t want to know how, Charles.

MORSE
You have anything you’d like to live for? Hmm?

GREEN
You know something? You know something? Maybe we were right to have let people like you run this country all these years. You’re the only ones dense enough!

MORSE
No, I’m not dense, I just have no imagination.

(Green laughs.)

GREEN
Making a decision tree, is that it?

MORSE
That’s it, Bob.

GREEN
(plaintively) We can’t think they’d come back?

MORSE
No. You shouldn’t think they’ll come back. They’ve scouted this area, and then they’ll move on.

(Green weeps.)

GREEN
All right. All right. Fire from ice. Let’s have it.

MORSE
Ice, if you take it into your hands, can be molded into a lens, which will concentrate
sunlight into fire. I doubt we’ll be reduced to that because we still have the matches, and I believe that’s all we’ll need.

Leave a Reply

