“And Why It Is That Here In Our Little Enclave, We Are So Fortunate”

Explained.

2 comments on ““And Why It Is That Here In Our Little Enclave, We Are So Fortunate”

  1. RV says:

    Of course, the libertarian in me bristles at the notion of requiring bars to serve food … but, alas, it is no match for my inner epicure, with an assist from my inner pragmatist.

  2. Pliny the Elder says:

    I am not sure thta you are so fortuante. I love the beer culture in the NW (I think that Eliot Bay and Boundary bay breweries in Wa are in my top 10 restaurants in the world), but it has unfortauntely enabled a generation of Portlanders to ignore reality. Brewing is the one business where an authentic “creative class” has flourished, but that should make Portland wonder what is wrong with the remainder of the economy in the area, particularly given the fact that WA has cultivated a very good beer climate while maintaining an economy better than the US as a whole. (N.B. Laurelwood Brewing, while still in business, recently closed its flagship Portland location.)
    I love Oregon in general and Portland in particular, but if I was offered jobs in both Seattle and Portland right now, it would be a difficult decision. The fact that it would be difficult shocks me, but there you have it.

Leave a Reply

