Damages

So I’ve been watching this show. It’s kind of silly (I mean, I am of the tribe of lawyers, and this is no more real than the TV shows that glamorize them). The basic structure of the thing is to present all the lawyer characters as so Machiavellian that even they can’t keep up with their own machinations. And yet there is a peculiar pleasure in watching Glenn Close, who is so together. My stepmother was like that, back in the day. I remember when I would come home from college in the summers, sitting in the living room with her, eating cheese and crackers and talking about cases. There have been many female mentors in my life, and though I don’t think she was ever that, I liked her, and respected her. When my father was under the knife and she and I were together waiting, I said: if he doesn’t come back, you’re still family. You will always be family. If there is a design to this life, that design now includes gradually robbing her of her mind, her soul, her life. It can’t happen soon enough, but I’m sure at the rate that it’s going, it will take just long enough to rob my father of whatever joy and will remain to him.

In the show, there’s this awesome theme song. It goes like this. “Little lamb: when I am through with you/There won’t be anything left/When I am through with you/There won’t be anything left/When I am through with you/There won’t be anything left/When I am through with you.”

This is supposed to be about how lawyers think about each other during litigation, which is absurd. It’s definitely about Someone though.

Leave a Reply

