Since Kubrick, More or Less

As the political part of my mind is on hiatus due to despair, I thought the following might be fun. 1998-1999 were a big deal to me because I am one of those Kubrick nuts you sometimes encounter, and the excitement of an upcoming Kubrick film, Eyes Wide Shut, his last (sort of) was like learning of the release of Star Wars Episode One for normal people. Though initially disappointing, it grew on me slowly until I came to appreciate its craft, depth and, yes, wisdom. I often found myself complaining that I hadn’t seen a decent film since Kubrick died. But is that really true? On reflection, no. What follows are the films that made a lasting impression on me from roughly the time Eyes Wide Shut was released to now. I only say roughly because I have to include Thin Red Line in this, and in retrospect, it felt like it came out almost at the same time as Eyes Wide Shut. I make no effort to be esoteric or clever; these are all wide release films, mostly well-regarded then and now. Rather than make a snarky “overrated” list, note what’s missing; usually, though not always, that’s why. Likewise, the ones that you’ve never heard of, or whose presence puzzles would be, I suppose, the underrated ones.

hard truths
The Hurt Locker
No Country for Old Men
American Beauty
Inception
Eyes Wide Shut
The Thin Red Line
A.I. Artificial Intelligence
The Edge 
Nymphomaniac

wisdom
The Queen
Shakespeare in Love
The Aviator
Velvet Goldmine

inspiration
Slumdog Millionaire

joy
The Big Lebowski
Transamerica
Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby
The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou

One comment on “Since Kubrick, More or Less

  1. […] books, have the power to change us, make us better people. At the very least, it is one of the best films of the new century. I have done almost no thinking about the film qua film however, how it uses allusion and genre […]

Leave a Reply

